Trixology

WeatherCat => WeatherCat iOS Clients => iOS Client Help => Topic started by: johnpolak on January 27, 2016, 08:37:29 am

Title: WeatherCatPad doesn't connect to Local
Post by: johnpolak on January 27, 2016, 08:37:29 am
Hi All

I recently installed WeatherCatPad on my iPad - it seemed to work okay to begin with. However now, it doesn't appear to be able to find anything when set to 'local'. It just says 'searching for local' at the top. Am I missing something here? Is there something that needs to be set in preferences on the computer based Weathercat? I was sure it was connecting okay originally - and nothing has been changed since. I have tried the usual restarts etc, but no joy. Any help appreciated.
Title: Any Updates?
Post by: dfw_pilot on January 27, 2016, 08:47:31 am
Make sure your WeatherCat preferences still have Advanced->Server ticked.
Try restarting WeatherCat.
The last time my app wouldn't load data was because WeatherCat was telling me there was an update available. Unbelievably, this made it stop serving data to the iOS app. Let us know if you get it sorted out.
Title: Re: WeatherCatPad doesn't connect to Local
Post by: johnpolak on January 27, 2016, 05:19:49 pm
Thanks dfw - a restart appears to have done the trick!
Title: Re: WeatherCatPad doesn't connect to Local
Post by: Blicj11 on January 27, 2016, 05:23:09 pm
Glad you are up and running.

This has happened to me several times and I have never quite got to the bottom of it. Things I have done that you can try:

Title: Also try iPad reset. (Re: WeatherCatPad doesn't connect to Local)
Post by: elagache on January 27, 2016, 11:00:07 pm
Dear John, Blick, and WeatherCat iOS fans,

I recently installed WeatherCatPad on my iPad - it seemed to work okay to begin with. However now, it doesn't appear to be able to find anything when set to 'local'.

I wasn't sure if you tried this, but did you reset your iPad? (the second instruction on this Apple support page:)

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201559 (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201559)

If you don't do a "hard restart" or reset, you don't force the iPad to reload all memory.  I've noticed a number of conditions where nothing short of a reset will due.  In particular, getting a successful sync with iTunes frequently will only happen after a reset.

Cheers, Edouard