Author Topic: Steel Gauges  (Read 116190 times)

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #120 on: February 19, 2013, 12:28:11 PM »
OK, close but no banana, let me do some testing with the realtime file you supplied above...
Mark

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #121 on: February 19, 2013, 12:41:32 PM »
JC

I cannot reproduce your results. I used the realtimegaugesWC.txt file you supplied above, but changed the wind run to "10.00" to make things simple.

After adding the lowercase() change in I find with the gauges displaying...

mph, run = 10.0 miles
km/h , run = 16.1 km
m/s, run = 16.1 km
knots, run = 8.7 n.miles

Which looks correct to me. Can you provide a link to your page so I can run it in a debugger?

EDIT: I also set the latest wind speed = 10 mph, and that converts correctly to km/h, m/s, knots (within rounding errors)
Mark

Jace

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
    • DW9675
    • ISuffolk62
    • Yoxford weather site.
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2, with Mac USB Data Logger. 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, with 8 GB 1033 MHz DDR3 Memory, running Mac OSX Version 10.10.1 (Yosimite).
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #122 on: February 19, 2013, 01:24:28 PM »
Hi Mark

Home page is: www.yoxford-weather.co.uk
SS page is: http://www.yoxford-weather.co.uk/steel/gauges-ss-basic.htm

Looking at the wind run counter in mph it seems to be in agreement with Wcat now, and it has stopped defaulting to mph from km/h or m.s after a period of time.

Regards
John

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #123 on: February 19, 2013, 01:33:17 PM »
Yep, that looks to be behaving itself now.

I'd just like confirmation of all the unit strings WeatherCat can send for wind unit, pressure unit and rain unit if someone can provide this info?
Mark

Randall75

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
  • CWOP-CW6734 WeatherUnderground-KOHNEWAR6
    • CW6734
    • KOHNEWAR6
    • Randy's Weather On The Hill
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus.iMac i5 OS High Sierra 10.13.6 8GB Ram, WeatherCat 3,Logitech 9000 Pro Web Cam
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #124 on: February 19, 2013, 01:54:41 PM »
Hi Jace and Mark
 I add  data.windunit = data.windunit.toLowerCase(); to line 1025 all is well here now
 thanks to both of you
 [cheers1]

Jace

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
    • DW9675
    • ISuffolk62
    • Yoxford weather site.
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2, with Mac USB Data Logger. 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, with 8 GB 1033 MHz DDR3 Memory, running Mac OSX Version 10.10.1 (Yosimite).
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #125 on: February 19, 2013, 02:18:50 PM »
Yep, that looks to be behaving itself now.

I'd just like confirmation of all the unit strings WeatherCat can send for wind unit, pressure unit and rain unit if someone can provide this info?

Very many thanks for all your hard work Mark.

I'm sorry but I'm not sure what the unit strings are, but hopefully Stu will be able to help.

How would I be able to alter the gauge size if I wanted to ?

JC

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #126 on: February 19, 2013, 02:27:24 PM »
How would I be able to alter the gauge size if I wanted to ?
It is set by CSS, in gauges-ss.css, there is a class called .gaugeSizeStd, alter the width/height values in there to globally change the size.

There are two other classes defined (you are free to add your own as well of course) .gaugeSizeSml and .gaugeSizeLrg, you can assign these classes to individual gauges in the HTML if you want some gauges larger/smaller than the others for a custom layout.
Mark

Steve

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1333
    • DW8454
    • KOHAVON11
    • Avon Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Wireless VP2 Plus w/24 hr FARS, Leaf & Soil Station, 2017 27" iMac 3.8 GHz i5, 40GB RAM, Mac OS 10.14, WeatherCat 3
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #127 on: February 19, 2013, 03:09:29 PM »
To help diagnose the wind speed discrepancies I think we will need a screen shot of the gauge, and a copy of your realtimegaugesWC.txt file taken at the same time. Then we can see what data is being sent, and what is being done with it.

Thanks
Mark
Thanks Mark,

Here's a screenshot of the gauges and realtimegaugesWC.txt file. I temporarily set it at 1 minute to grab the shot, but normally have it set to update every .11 minute. Note my max gust is now 76 MPH. It's a hurricane! :)




And here are my settings, with the arrow pointing at the changes I made.



Thanks,
Steve

[EDIT] Oops, I didn't notice there was another page of replies. I added line 1095 as "                data.windunit = data.windunit.toLowerCase();" and the windspeed works fine now. Thanks for the fix!

http://www.avon-weather.com/steel/gauges-ss-basic.htm

Steve
Steve - Avon, Ohio, USA


CWOP: DW8454 • WU: KOHAVON11 • AWEKAS • CoCoRaHS • Skywarn •  UK Met Office
MWWN •PWSweather • WeatherBug • WeatherCloud • Twitter • Facebook

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #128 on: February 19, 2013, 03:19:16 PM »
Hi Steve, I think we have this sorted, try adding

Code: [Select]
data.windunit = data.windunit.toLowerCase();
to line 1025 of gauges.js (v2.2.0)
[or to line 1095 in gauges.js (v2.2.1)]

Just before...
Code: [Select]
if (data.windunit === 'kmh') {  // WD wind unit omits '/'
I'll fix this in the next release.
Mark

wurzelmac

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1240
    • ITIROLPR2
    • Wetterstation Prägraten am Großvenediger
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage PRO2 Plus (24h fan aspirated, wireless) with UV/Solar | Weather Envoy Data Logger | Mac mini Mid 2011 2,7 GHz Intel Core i7 with 12 GB of RAM | 1x Canon EOS 1300D | macOS 10.14.6 Mojave
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #129 on: February 19, 2013, 05:19:35 PM »
Col,
thanks for assistance & help  :) !

Mark,
a big thanks to you, too! Would it be possible to give all gauges a background instead of the color BEIGE but a picture/pattern like the one attached in this post? Thanks in advance!

Cheers,
Reinhard
Reinhard


mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #130 on: February 19, 2013, 05:27:19 PM »
The library has a built in background that is similar - 'stainless' - try it here: http://www.wilmslowastro.com/steelseries/demoRadial.html

Set the background to steelseries.BackgroundColor.STAINLESS in the gauge = {} Gauge Global look'n'feel settings

There is a variation, "turned" which is stainless with a turned pattern overlaid on top of it.

Mark

WCDev

  • WeatherCat Developer
  • Administrator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2809
    • CW9739
    • ISCOTLAN25
    • Trixology
  • Station Details: Main Station: Vantage Pro-2, 24hr fars, solar, soil/leaf station, extra temp stations, no U.V. WeatherLink IP.
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #131 on: February 19, 2013, 05:38:33 PM »
Yep, that looks to be behaving itself now.

I'd just like confirmation of all the unit strings WeatherCat can send for wind unit, pressure unit and rain unit if someone can provide this info?

Hi Mark,
Here are the strings:
Code: [Select]
Precipitation: mm or in
Temperature: °C or °F
Windpseed: MPH, Knots, m/s, km/h
Pressure: inHg, mb, hPa

If you need more info just shout.

Cheers,
Stu.

wurzelmac

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1240
    • ITIROLPR2
    • Wetterstation Prägraten am Großvenediger
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage PRO2 Plus (24h fan aspirated, wireless) with UV/Solar | Weather Envoy Data Logger | Mac mini Mid 2011 2,7 GHz Intel Core i7 with 12 GB of RAM | 1x Canon EOS 1300D | macOS 10.14.6 Mojave
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #132 on: February 19, 2013, 05:39:19 PM »
Thanks for advice, Mark - really appreciated!

Took it - that's it! http://wetter.unterwurzacher.at/steelgauges/livewerte.html

Thanks to all involved in this one!

Cheers,
Reinhard
Reinhard


mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #133 on: February 19, 2013, 05:54:14 PM »
Hi Mark,
Here are the strings:
Code: [Select]
Precipitation: mm or in
Temperature: °C or °F
Windpseed: MPH, Knots, m/s, km/h
Pressure: inHg, mb, hPa

If you need more info just shout.

Cheers,
Stu.
Thanks for that, I will have to convert the "MPH" to "mph" and "Knots" to "kts" internally in script to make WeatherCat compatible with the existing logic.

I have attached a test version of v2.2.2 with just those two changes in if people would give it a whirl - including someone who uses Knots as their native wind speed unit would be good  :)
Mark

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #134 on: February 19, 2013, 05:56:57 PM »
Thanks for advice, Mark - really appreciated!

Took it - that's it! http://wetter.unterwurzacher.at/steelgauges/gauges-ss-basic.htm

Thanks to all involved in this one!

Cheers,
Reinhard
[bounce] That is looking great - I used to have a very similar background myself on my gauges page some time ago, it disappeared for some reason!
Mark