Author Topic: Steel Gauges  (Read 116199 times)

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #105 on: February 18, 2013, 10:29:45 PM »
Just a heads up, but I have released v2.2.1 of the gauges today. Two minor bug fixes in there, one only relevant to Cumulus users, but the gauges.js file has been updated to fix the auto scaling of the gauges when view on a mobile device - I broke that in v2.2.0 :(

Good to see that most of you seem to be getting these gauges working - stick at it!
Mark

WCDev

  • WeatherCat Developer
  • Administrator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2809
    • CW9739
    • ISCOTLAN25
    • Trixology
  • Station Details: Main Station: Vantage Pro-2, 24hr fars, solar, soil/leaf station, extra temp stations, no U.V. WeatherLink IP.
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #106 on: February 18, 2013, 10:34:22 PM »
Thread 'stickied'.

Steve

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1333
    • DW8454
    • KOHAVON11
    • Avon Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Wireless VP2 Plus w/24 hr FARS, Leaf & Soil Station, 2017 27" iMac 3.8 GHz i5, 40GB RAM, Mac OS 10.14, WeatherCat 3
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #107 on: February 18, 2013, 10:58:16 PM »
Hi guys,

Looks like a lot has gone on since I last checked in. Sorry to have added my guess at how to get it working and then bailing. I had company from Friday evening until just a few hours ago, and haven't been on the computer.

I'll read through what everyone has done and see if I need to make any changes to my original settings. Thanks Ken, MArk, Col, and Stu for getting this up and running on WeatherCat!

Steve
Steve - Avon, Ohio, USA


CWOP: DW8454 • WU: KOHAVON11 • AWEKAS • CoCoRaHS • Skywarn •  UK Met Office
MWWN •PWSweather • WeatherBug • WeatherCloud • Twitter • Facebook

WxOwl

  • Gentle Breeze
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • W6DSP
    • KINHUNTI6
    • W6DSP Home Page
  • Station Details: Davis VP2, 24hr fars, MacMini Server-OS10.13
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #108 on: February 19, 2013, 01:03:12 AM »
Hello All,

As noted previously by Jace, there is a problem with the wind run indication.

Only one minor problem I've got, don't know if anybody else has seen this at all.

All the gauges except the wind rose update regularly and are accurate with the 'Cat. However the wind rose does not seem to update and the total wind run counter under reads.

It appears the conversion from km to miles is being applied twice somewhere. For example my WeatherCat gauges shows 144.6 km or 89.9 miles for today while the SS gauges shows 89.9 km or 55.8 miles. The ratio between all these numbers (and those in Jace's example) is the conversion factor of about 0.62. Really windy here today so I've had plenty of chances to compare the numbers.

Regards,
David

Randall75

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
  • CWOP-CW6734 WeatherUnderground-KOHNEWAR6
    • CW6734
    • KOHNEWAR6
    • Randy's Weather On The Hill
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus.iMac i5 OS High Sierra 10.13.6 8GB Ram, WeatherCat 3,Logitech 9000 Pro Web Cam
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #109 on: February 19, 2013, 02:38:58 AM »
Hi David and Jace
 I notice if you set the wind to m/s instead of mph it matches WeatherCat
Wind Run and Speed
 [cheers1]

Steve

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1333
    • DW8454
    • KOHAVON11
    • Avon Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Wireless VP2 Plus w/24 hr FARS, Leaf & Soil Station, 2017 27" iMac 3.8 GHz i5, 40GB RAM, Mac OS 10.14, WeatherCat 3
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #110 on: February 19, 2013, 03:29:16 AM »
OK, I think I'm all caught up. You guys have done some nice work documenting things over the past few days, and I've got Mark's latest update installed.

Have I missed a unit of measure setting somewhere for windspeed? Mine is in MPH, but the gauge is showing 2-3 times actual windspeed. It shows my max gust today was 58 MPH, when it really was 26. This was both before and after updating to the latest version.

Thanks!
Steve
Steve - Avon, Ohio, USA


CWOP: DW8454 • WU: KOHAVON11 • AWEKAS • CoCoRaHS • Skywarn •  UK Met Office
MWWN •PWSweather • WeatherBug • WeatherCloud • Twitter • Facebook

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #111 on: February 19, 2013, 09:17:23 AM »
To help diagnose the wind speed discrepancies I think we will need a screen shot of the gauge, and a copy of your realtimegaugesWC.txt file taken at the same time. Then we can see what data is being sent, and what is being done with it.

Thanks
Mark
Mark

Jace

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
    • DW9675
    • ISuffolk62
    • Yoxford weather site.
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2, with Mac USB Data Logger. 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, with 8 GB 1033 MHz DDR3 Memory, running Mac OSX Version 10.10.1 (Yosimite).
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #112 on: February 19, 2013, 10:37:06 AM »
Hi David and Jace
 I notice if you set the wind to m/s instead of mph it matches WeatherCat
Wind Run and Speed
 [cheers1]

Your right,   [cheers1] I've just set the wind speed to km/h and then m/s  the wind run counter has re-set itself to match Weather Cat. If set to mph and knots both under read compared to Wcat.

[interesting]

JC

Jace

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
    • DW9675
    • ISuffolk62
    • Yoxford weather site.
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2, with Mac USB Data Logger. 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, with 8 GB 1033 MHz DDR3 Memory, running Mac OSX Version 10.10.1 (Yosimite).
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #113 on: February 19, 2013, 10:44:38 AM »
To help diagnose the wind speed discrepancies I think we will need a screen shot of the gauge, and a copy of your realtimegaugesWC.txt file taken at the same time. Then we can see what data is being sent, and what is being done with it.
Thanks Mark

Hi Mark here is my reatimegaugesWC.txt and the gauges taken at the same time. weatherCat was reading a wind run of 1.85 miles at the time. The realtimegauageWC.txt file shows the same, but displayed 1.2 miles on the wind rose dial.

"EDIT"  - I've just noticed that if km/h or m/s are selected, after a wee while the selected units defaults to mph, only happens for wind speed. Temp, pressure, rainfall stay on the selected units.

{"date":"19/02/13",
"timeUTC":"2013,2,19,10,32,18",
"SensorContactLost":"0",
"forecast":"Current forecast is -- Increasing clouds with little temperature change. Precipitation possible within 24 to 48 hours. --", "tempunit":"°C",
"windunit":"MPH", "pressunit":"mb", "rainunit":"mm",
"temp":"1.8",
"tempTL":"-3.8", "TtempTL":"03:00", "tempTH":"1.8", "TtempTH":"10:27", "temptrend":"0.6", "intemp":"18.4",
"dew":"1.1", "dewpointTL":"-4.4", "dewpointTH":"1.2", "TdewpointTL":"03:00", "TdewpointTH":"10:21", "apptemp":"-0.3", "apptempTL":"-6.4", "apptempTH":"0.0", "TapptempTL":"03:00", "TapptempTH":"10:00", "wchill":"1.8", "wchillTL":"-3.8", "TwchillTL":"03:00", "heatindex":"1.8", "heatindexTH":"1.8", "TheatindexTH":"10:27", "humidex":"-0",
"wlatest":"2",
"wspeed":"0.0", "windTM":"4.00",
"wgust":"3",
"wgustTM":"4", "bearingTM":"261", "TwgustTM":"09:17", "bearing":"265", "avgbearing":"266", "BearingRangeFrom10":"260", "BearingRangeTo10":"260", "Tbeaufort":"0", "press":"1020.4", "pressTL":"1020.3", "TpressTL":"09:40", "pressTH":"1022.2", "TpressTH":"00:01", "pressL":"967.9", "pressH":"1038.5", "presstrendval":"0.0", "LastRainTipISO":"2013-02-14", "hourlyrainTH":"0.0", "ThourlyrainTH":"10:00", "rfall":"0.2",
"rrate":"0.0",
"rrateTM":"0.0",
"TrrateTM":"10:00",
"hum":"95",
"humTL":"95",
"ThumTL":"10:26",
"humTH":"98",
"ThumTH":"09:00",
"inhum":"35",
"UV":"0.0",
"SolarRad":"0",
"CurrentSolarMax":"0",
"domwinddir":"W",
"WindRoseData": [0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.1,0.6,1.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0], "windrun":"1.85",
"version":"V1.14, Build 230", "build":"0",
"ver":"9"}

Cheers John

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #114 on: February 19, 2013, 11:44:18 AM »
OK, I think I see the problem, WeatherCat is sending the wind speed units as "MPH" the script is expecting "mph".

If you insert at line 1095 in gauges.js...
                data.windunit = data.windunit.toLowerCase();

Does that fix it?

EDIT: What strings does WeatherCat use for the other wind units available?
Mark

UncleBuck

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • IVICTORI276
    • Point Cook Weather
  • Station Details: Oregon WMR200, MAC OS X 10.10, WeatherCat V2
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #115 on: February 19, 2013, 11:48:41 AM »
Col,
I do see that you have changed the background color of the gauges themselves to a background image - can you tell me how to? I want to change the background to the pattern attached in this post.

Cheers,
Reinhard

I'm actually not using an image, it is one of the lines in the gauges.js file.
Code: [Select]
background             : steelseries.BackgroundColor.BEIGE,was changed to
Code: [Select]
background             : steelseries.BackgroundColor.BRUSHED_METAL,
I believe you can incorporate an image as a background on the gauges, however, I haven't explored that yet. Maybe Mark can give you an idea.

Col.

Jace

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
    • DW9675
    • ISuffolk62
    • Yoxford weather site.
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2, with Mac USB Data Logger. 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, with 8 GB 1033 MHz DDR3 Memory, running Mac OSX Version 10.10.1 (Yosimite).
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #116 on: February 19, 2013, 11:57:38 AM »
Hi mark

Line 1095 is :    if (_gaugeStatus) {

Something to do with the staus LED display. However my copy of gauges.js from line 1052 onwards reads:

 // Wind data conversion for display required?
                if (data.windunit !== _displayUnits.wind && _userUnitsSet) {
                    // rain needs converting
                    convWindData(data.windunit, _displayUnits.wind);
                } else if (_firstRun) {
                    _displayUnits.wind = data.windunit;
                    _displayUnits.windrun = getWindrunUnits(data.windunit);
                    setRadioCheck('rad_unitsWind', _displayUnits.wind);

Line 1055 refers to converting rain units, as does line 1045 in the section above this block of code.

Does line 1055 need changing to read    //wind needs converting

 I haven't changed  line 1095 yet, just in case I screw something up.
Cheers.
                JC

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #117 on: February 19, 2013, 12:00:23 PM »
Ah, I was using v2.2.1 of the gauges.js script. On 2.2.0, insert at line 1025, just before...

                if (data.windunit === 'kmh') {  // WD wind unit omits '/'
                    data.windunit = 'km/h';
                }
Mark

mcrossley

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
  • Sorry, I'm not a WeatherCat user!
    • ICHESHIR25
    • Wilmslow Astro Weather
  • Station Details: WH1090
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #118 on: February 19, 2013, 12:02:45 PM »

I believe you can incorporate an image as a background on the gauges, however, I haven't explored that yet. Maybe Mark can give you an idea.
You can yes, either you can overlay an image on top of the gauge background (this obviously works best with images that have transparency), or you can remove the gauge background completely and have whatever is behind the gauge on the web page show through.

Below is a gauge with a transparent image overlay on the background (one I happen to have lying around for some reason! ;) )
Mark

Jace

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
    • DW9675
    • ISuffolk62
    • Yoxford weather site.
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2, with Mac USB Data Logger. 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, with 8 GB 1033 MHz DDR3 Memory, running Mac OSX Version 10.10.1 (Yosimite).
Re: Steel Gauges
« Reply #119 on: February 19, 2013, 12:24:17 PM »
Hi mark.

I've inserted data.windunit = data.windunit.toLowerCase(); at Line 10 so that block of code now reads:

}
                 data.windunit = data.windunit.toLowerCase();
                if (data.windunit === 'kmh') {  // WD wind unit omits '/'
                    data.windunit = 'km/h';
                }

WeatherCat data is: 4.4 miles wind run

Gauge in mph is 4.4 miles wind run
Gauge in knots is 3.8 wind run
Gauge in m/s is 6.7 wind run
Gauge in km/h is 7.2 wind run

JC