Author Topic: Multiple Gauges in One Window  (Read 167 times)

MrDave

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • KPAKENNE10
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro 2, WeatherLinkIP, Mac
Multiple Gauges in One Window
« on: July 28, 2018, 02:42:11 PM »
Does anyone know how to do this?  Multiple gauges in a single window frame as in the attached.

Thank you.

MrDave


xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: Multiple Gauges in One Window
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2018, 08:26:11 PM »
A "single frame" where? On a web page or your computer screen?

In a web page it is super simple. Just create a div (if you want to keep them together in one space) and list them thusly:
Code: [Select]
<div class="centered_content_group shadow-box">
   <img class="narrow_gauge" src="customgauge5.png"
        alt="Gauge-Wind Chill">
    <img class="narrow_gauge" src="customgauge6.png"
        alt="Gauge-Dew point">
</div>
That includes some CSS to define the size and keeps them on the same horizontal plain, create the size needed for the containing div "box" and adds a show to it. In this "box" are only two gauges. In other divs, there are 'normal' sized gauges and one or two "narrow_gauge" gauges.
I use a simple text file added to the Custom Files list that contains theWC tags for the gauges I've defined. WC parses that file and creates and uploads the images to the site in the root area, thus the 'src' name is the same as the WC created image file name. [computer]

As for displaying on the Desktop, I'm thinking you can just leave their creation/edit window open, use the minimize arrow, and adjust the size as needed. You can save a bit of space by over-lapping the window's title bar. And doing it this way also leaves a white background around the gauge. There are ways to change a window's background, but I'll leave that task as an exercise for the reader. [lol]

elagache

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 4935
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, MacBook Pro (Early 2011), macOS 10.13.6, WeatherCat 3
Dear MrDave and WeatherCat slick user-interface fans,

Since this is your first posting, let me welcome you to the WeatherCat forum! . . .

Does anyone know how to do this?  Multiple gauges in a single window frame as in the attached.

I'm assuming you are referring to the screenshot that is on this page of the main Trixology website:

https://trixology.com/weathercat/

The frame is indeed being created by the WordPress rendering of the webpage.  The gauges are appearing without any enclosing window on the screen.  You can take a custom gauge and make the window disappear by double-clicking on it.  Repeating the process will give you the window back. 

All this is described in the WeatherCat manual starting on page 38.

What X-Air is describing is how you can create your own gauge rendering on a custom webpage.  I'm not sure that is what you were after though.

Once more welcome!  :)

Cheers, Edouard  [cheers1]

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: Multiple Gauges in One Window
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2018, 12:44:58 AM »
Please accept my apology for not noting your new arrival!  [blush] My bad!!

Thanks to your question, however, you have made me aware of information I did not know! That one reason this site is great! And thanks, again, to the WC dev for making it possible to hide the window background! I’ve never seen that capability in any other app! ThU5:-)

Blicj11

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2977
    • EW3808
    • KUTHEBER6
    • Timber Lakes Utah
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus | WeatherLinkIP™ Data Logger | iMac (late 2013), 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 24 GB RAM, macOS High Sierra | Sharx SCNC2900 Webcam | Supportive Wife
Re: Multiple Gauges in One Window
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2018, 02:41:41 AM »
Welcome to the forum MrDave.
Blick


MrDave

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • KPAKENNE10
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro 2, WeatherLinkIP, Mac
Re: Multiple Gauges in One Window
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2018, 01:09:50 PM »
Thank you Global Moderator Storm, xairbusdriver, elagache and all others.

Yes, I am a brand new WeatherCat user and forum member.  I am unencumbered by knoledge.  I am currently using the only the creation/edit window in the app itself.  Since my audience is, and will remain small, I wasn't sure creating a web site was worth the extra effort and possible trouble.  I will continue to evaluate that.

I've also learned from my very first post that my user name, MrDave, is woefully plain for this forum.  It's the name given to me by the neighbor kids, and it just sort of stuck.

I can already tell, you all are a very helpful bunch who will be interesting to work with,  Thank you in advance.

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: Multiple Gauges in One Window
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2018, 07:41:51 PM »
Any friend of the neighborhood kids is a friend of mine! ThU5:-)