Author Topic: WeatherCat version 3  (Read 1004 times)

Randall75

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1193
  • CWOP-CW6734 WeatherUnderground-KOHNEWAR6
    • CW6734
    • KOHNEWAR6
    • Randy's Weather On The Hill
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus.iMac i5 Sierra 10.12.6 8GB Ram, WeatherCat 3,Logitech 9000 Pro Web Cam
Re: WeatherCat version 3
« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2018, 07:43:08 PM »
Hi Xair
 Under the Menu go to File and click close.
 To reopen go to Tools click gauges.

Hope that helps

cheers

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2122
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: WeatherCat version 3
« Reply #16 on: April 03, 2018, 08:04:09 PM »
At first the "Close" item was grayed out. So I used the un-intuitive action of going to the Tools menu and selecting Gauges, which was already open, of course. But, by doing that, the Close item in the Files menu was activated and I closed the window from there.

Stranger even was that now I can open that window, from the Tools menu, but now, I can also close the window with the red gumdrop. [banghead]

Whatever works... at least when it does...

My next step was to quit and reopen WC. It won't slow down any updating since it's not doing any, yet. I've spent nearly 10 hours getting this clean, new machine set up, and I still can't get Mail to accept accounts that work fine on all our other devices. If it's this hard for me, I can easily understand why the "geniuses" are employed... This is bordering on the ridiculous! I may see about getting the Apple ][ out of the closet... cmu:-)

elagache

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 4897
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, MacBook Pro (Early 2011), macOS 10.13.6, WeatherCat 3
Standard gauges? (Re: WeatherCat version 3)
« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2018, 11:06:02 PM »
Dear X-Air and WeatherCat "feature-o-holics,"

OK, first stupid question from a new WC3 user (doubt if it's the last). How do I turn off/not display the "Weather Station Gauges" window? I see in The Manual that I can change the style/colors/etc. And the "candy" window buttons have no effect. [banghead]

Are you talking about the original WeatherCat 1 window with all the gauges?  There is no setting to turn it off, but closing the window works fine for me.  I can close it using the close button at the top left corner or using the Close menu item from the File menu.

I don't know if WeatherCat will remember that you closed the window after a restart though.

Cheers, Edouard

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2122
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: WeatherCat version 3
« Reply #18 on: April 03, 2018, 11:35:29 PM »
Not sure what WC1 looked like, I started with #2! Did #1 need an 80 character card to plug into the slots of the Apple ][? And it probably needed another 16 Kb of ram, too!

I'm pretty sure WC 'remembers' that we might close that window, I don't remember ever seeing it on the old mini after the first few days and WC certainly was quit and restarted many times in the last 2.5 years! Besides, the mini's run headless, so there's no screen to see unless one uses Screen Sharing.

I think the key word in this post is "remember"... Apparently, my rememberer isn't working very well. [banghead]

elagache

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 4897
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, MacBook Pro (Early 2011), macOS 10.13.6, WeatherCat 3
Punched cards! . . . (Re: WeatherCat version 3)
« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2018, 11:17:59 PM »
Dear X-Air and WeatherCat IT old-timers,  ;D

Not sure what WC1 looked like, I started with #2! Did #1 need an 80 character card to plug into the slots of the Apple ][? And it probably needed another 16 Kb of ram, too!

 [wink] . . . . Of course not!  WeatherCat 1 ran only on a CDC-6400 computer and was controlled via punched cards! . . .  lol(1)

I'm pretty sure WC 'remembers' that we might close that window, I don't remember ever seeing it on the old mini after the first few days and WC certainly was quit and restarted many times in the last 2.5 years! Besides, the mini's run headless, so there's no screen to see unless one uses Screen Sharing.

It is easy enough to run a test and find out.  But I wasn't willing to interfere with my WeatherCat session to confirm.  Perhaps somebody else can run the experiment and answer one way or the other.

Cheers, Edouard

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2122
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: WeatherCat version 3
« Reply #20 on: April 05, 2018, 02:33:29 AM »
I now have WC2 running on the new mini and that screen has not reappeared since I last closed it. Not so fast Sherlock, maybe you're just not as observant as you think!? See my later post below that disputes what I say here! As I get older, I keep entertained by arguing with myself... in public, no less! cmu:-)

WC has been quit and restarted several times as I slowly get it back to its "normal" condition. So, once closed, always closed. Another strange phenomenon about that window is that it could not be pushed off screen even a little. No edge of it could be any more than sitting on any edge of the screen. Pushing it even a single pixel further resulted in its return to to full view. It could be a function of my botched first install. I don't remember ever seeing that behavior of any type of window before. I dunno...

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2122
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: WeatherCat version 3
« Reply #21 on: April 05, 2018, 08:12:00 PM »
It may be the changes in 10.13 that are causing this... I've been quitting/starting WC2 several times lately, getting things setup to 'normal' before upgrading to WC3. The main difference is that WC had been running on an older mini using 0S 10.11.6. Of course the new mini came with 10.13. For whatever reason, that Weather Station Gauges window does come back with each restart. It also still refuses to have any portion off screen. Nor can one use the Red candy button to close it, it only accepts the "Close" command in the File menu, assuming it is the Active window.

Randall75

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 1193
  • CWOP-CW6734 WeatherUnderground-KOHNEWAR6
    • CW6734
    • KOHNEWAR6
    • Randy's Weather On The Hill
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus.iMac i5 Sierra 10.12.6 8GB Ram, WeatherCat 3,Logitech 9000 Pro Web Cam
Re: WeatherCat version 3
« Reply #22 on: April 05, 2018, 09:18:29 PM »
Hi Xair
  Are sure there is not a setting in the new operating system that needs set to reopen the windows that were open when you quit it seems like I read some where that there is a setting like that to reopen all windows.
 
cheers
I'm not running the new 10.3 because of all things I read about it and don't need all the trouble to get it running
 

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2122
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: WeatherCat version 3
« Reply #23 on: April 05, 2018, 09:41:29 PM »
I'll check that, I normally keep that disabled, but this is a "new" OS... I don't even remember seeing that question when doing a Restart with 10.13... I always thought that referred to any windows that the OS or a currently running app would have open. If an app had closed any windows, I wouldn't think the OS would 'see' anything needing to be re-opened. That's why I think WC is doing this. But I still don't remember seeing this when I was running WC through Screen Sharing 99.98% of the time. Screen Sharing may have something to do with it, since I am now using a 'real' monitor while getting things re-established. Who nose...

Well, you were correct about that "Re-open windoze" item. I'm just not paying enough attention to the obvious!! [banghead] [blush] It was checked (by default) and it's now not!  [rolleyes2]

elagache

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 4897
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, MacBook Pro (Early 2011), macOS 10.13.6, WeatherCat 3
With "friends" like this . . . . (Re: WeatherCat version 3)
« Reply #24 on: April 05, 2018, 11:33:38 PM »
Dear X-Air, Randall, and WeatherCat faithful,

Well, you were correct about that "Re-open windoze" item. I'm just not paying enough attention to the obvious!! [banghead] [blush] It was checked (by default) and it's now not!  [rolleyes2]

Sadly, that is one to be careful about.  It is another one of those Apple situations that are best summarized by:

"With friends like this, you don't need any enemies!" . . . .  [rolleyes2]

Oh well, . . . . Edouard