Author Topic: Greetings from Northern Arizona  (Read 3558 times)

McQ

• Calm
  • Christian, cyclist, ham (kf7mcq), married
    • EW3031
    • KAZSUNCI27
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Vue, Weather Cat, '13 iMac
Greetings from Northern Arizona
« on: July 10, 2013, 08:29:26 PM »
I am new at this, though I've been a weather watcher for a long time.  I've recently replaced an old Davis wired station with a Davis Vantage Vue wireless.  I'm running WeatherCat on an old MacMini (it may be slow but there was no cost related with taking it out of the dusty box in the garage).

We are located in central Winslow, AZ on the Colorado Plateau in northern Arizona, about 55 miles east of and 1,500 feet lower than Flagstaff.

My goal is to provide accurate and timely weather reports and alarms to the NOAA station since the weather reports currently available are less than accurate for our location.  The nearest radar station is located 50 miles south at approximately 7,400 feet.  As a result, the returns are from roughly 12,000 feet, which is above the clouds and active weather we experience.  The Winslow Lindbergh Regional Airport provides updates hourly (or so) to Wunderground and WxBug, but it seldom matches current conditions in town.  [goofy]

My current sub-project is trying to figure out how to get the satellite imagery for anything besides Europe!  I'd love to have Arizona, but would settle for North America.  All of the pre-loaded sites are Europe and I don't find anything in the manual for changing those pre-sets.  [banghead]

Looking forward to getting this thing going.  [tup]
Fran
Cogito, ergo armatum sum
Sun City West Sheriff's Posse

Steve

• Global Moderator
  • Storm
    • DW8454
    • KOHAVON11
    • Avon Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Wireless VP2 Plus w/24 hr FARS, Leaf & Soil Station, 2023 Mac mini M2 Pro, 32GB RAM, Mac OS 14, WeatherCat 3.2
Re: Greetings from Northern Arizona
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2013, 12:04:28 AM »