Author Topic: WeatherCat 3--Bad Data  (Read 146 times)

aware

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • KTXKINGW23
  • Station Details: David Vantage Pro2
WeatherCat 3--Bad Data
« on: June 04, 2018, 05:12:22 PM »
Hoping some here can help me out with some issues I had yesterday June 3.

During an evening thunderstorm my David Vantage Pro 2 recorded a wind gust of 31 mph.  I know this because I happened to be staring at my Davis Console at the time.  WeatherCat captured this data and sent it out (WU, PWS, etc.) But now when I run a report it tells me the highest wind gust yesterday was 28 mph.

To make an executive summary:

1. WeatherCat sees a 31 mph wind gust.
2. WeatherCat sends this data to WU and others.
3. WeatherCat seemingly loses this data and reports a 28 mph wind gust???

Any ideas?

Austin

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2042
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: WeatherCat 3--Bad Data
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2018, 11:48:09 PM »
Just a guess: WC is recording to the its database at a different interval/time than it uses for WU?

I think the ISS transmits data every few seconds, but WC only records data as determined by the prefs (Prefs->Misc2->Sampling). Do you have "Adaptive" checked?

elagache

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 4778
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, MacBook Pro (Early 2011)
What is in the WeatherCat data? (Re: WeatherCat 3--Bad Data)
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2018, 12:02:24 AM »
Dear Austin, X-Air, and WeatherCat troubleshooters,

To make an executive summary:

1. WeatherCat sees a 31 mph wind gust.
2. WeatherCat sends this data to WU and others.
3. WeatherCat seemingly loses this data and reports a 28 mph wind gust???

I assume you know the time of day when this gust hit.  Can you check the WeatherCat data file to see what was stored there?   You will find the file at:

~/Library/WeatherCatData/Location1/2018/6_WeatherCatData.cat

The ~ refers to your home folder.

Be careful not to tamper with the file as it is collecting data so long as WeatherCat is running.  It is always best to copy the file and peek inside the copy.  It is a straight text file you can look at it using any editor such as TextEdit or TextWangler.  The file format is documented at the top and is reasonable intuitive.

Cheers, Edouard  [cheers1]

aware

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • KTXKINGW23
  • Station Details: David Vantage Pro2
Re: WeatherCat 3--Bad Data
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2018, 01:36:47 AM »
Just a guess: WC is recording to the its database at a different interval/time than it uses for WU?

I think the ISS transmits data every few seconds, but WC only records data as determined by the prefs (Prefs->Misc2->Sampling). Do you have "Adaptive" checked?

It is set to 2 minutes and adaptive is checked.  I had thought--perhaps incorrectly--that adaptive was there to catch situations just like this?

Austin

aware

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • KTXKINGW23
  • Station Details: David Vantage Pro2
Re: What is in the WeatherCat data? (Re: WeatherCat 3--Bad Data)
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2018, 01:54:13 AM »
  The file format is documented at the top and is reasonable intuitive.

I followed you perfectly until this part.  At the top of what?

I have the file copied and opened in text edit.

Thanks
Austin

xairbusdriver

  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 2042
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.13.4/WC 3.0
Re: WeatherCat 3--Bad Data
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2018, 03:15:32 AM »
The "top" is the first 7 lines of text. Those lines describe what the letters to the left of each colon means:
"t" is the "is the day, hour and minute (2 digits each)"
"T" is outside temp
"Ti" is inside temp
etc.
You probably are mainly concerned with "Wg", wind gust.

Most of those times will be on a 2 minute interval, but with "Adaptive" checked you will probably find more of them around the time of that gust. However, it doesn't appear that WC records entries to the database in less than 1 minute increments. That's my opinion, as "t" is defined that way. However, since each line is numbered, it may be possible for WC to 'see' more than one data point, even if the "t" values are all the same. I suspect that you will not find a "Wg" value of 31.0. If you do, it may be a question for the Dev to explain how the data is used when displayed with the WC tags/history/max/...