Author Topic: FYI: Suggestions to reduce Yosemite memory leaks.  (Read 6129 times)

elagache

• Global Moderator
  • Storm
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, Mac mini (2018), macOS 10.14.3, WeatherCat 3
FYI: Suggestions to reduce Yosemite memory leaks.
« on: November 14, 2014, 09:17:34 PM »
Dear WeatherCat "bleeding edgers" . . . . .

This morning in frustration, I typed "Yosemite memory leaks" into Google and found this page on the Apple Support Forums:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6623697

It describes a rather protracted recipe to reduce memory leaks and CPU issues with Yosemite.  I'm winterizing a car today and can't take the time to do this right now, but I thought I would point it out for anyone else that is really suffering.  Since I haven't tried it out yet, I have no direct experience with the procedure, but people responding to the thread report it does help.

Cheers, Edouard  [cheers1]

Mtn.Marty

• Gentle Breeze
    • EW4707
    • KNCASHEV25
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Vue
Re: FYI: Suggestions to reduce Yosemite memory leaks.
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2014, 09:32:00 PM »
I tried that very procedure Edouard and with only limited success. First of all, it's difficult and you better have lots of time to do it. I don't know if I waited long enough for the machine to fully shut down each time. What's frustrating to me is that Yosemite was fine and stable for a couple of weeks before it started to be a complete hog. Often when I come back to the machine from a long absence, I'm down to less than 100 MB of memory left (out of 12 Gig).

Running Safari on only a few tabs does help, BTW.

elagache

• Global Moderator
  • Storm
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, Mac mini (2018), macOS 10.14.3, WeatherCat 3
Having better luck (Re: FYI: Reduce Yosemite memory leaks.)
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2014, 09:34:49 PM »