Author Topic: Advice  (Read 3782 times)

chriscrete

• Calm
Advice
« on: February 16, 2013, 02:10:15 PM »
Hi all,

I'm not technical at all but do want a good weather station that displays the actual weather on the website we are running to promote our holidays complex in South East Crete. I have some people with enough skills that can help but all want a Windows PC to set it up and running. I prefer to do it on a Mac as I do have a spare MacMini intel based that I want to use for this. Can anybody advice if it's possible to set up a professional weather station on a Mac and integrate it to look professional in our website? I also want to have a weather station that I can connect with a sunshine sensor. So what should I do to achieve the best results?

Would also appreciate some URL where I can see this kind of integration working.

Thanks.

Chris

jace

• Storm
    • DW9675
    • ISuffolk62
    • Yoxford weather site.
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2, with Mac USB Data Logger. 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, with 8 GB 1033 MHz DDR3 Memory, running Mac OSX Version 10.10.1 (Yosimite).
Re: Advice
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2013, 02:44:32 PM »
Hi Chris.

Lots of people in this forum have their own web sites with their weather data.

If you have a look in the member map link at the top on any page in this forum, and click on members names, it should come up with info about that member. If they have a web page, it can be looked at by clicking on the world icon.

weather station wise,

Davis are probably among the best stations but unfortunately a vantage Pro 2 station with data logger and sunshine sensors will cost about ?1000. (The Davis Vantage Vue is cheaper but cannot use solar/uv sensors).

Then for about ?350 - ?400 there is the Oregon scientific WMR 200, you have to buy the uv sensor as a option, costs about ?40