Author Topic: Hello from San Diego California  (Read 2762 times)

Tailspin45

• Gentle Breeze
    • EW0995
    • KCACARLS17
    • Carlsbad Science and Technology Observatory
  • Station Details: Davis 6250, 6520 USB logger, iMac, Evocam
Hello from San Diego California
« on: June 14, 2013, 03:00:53 PM »
Just switched from inexpensive but unreliable Ambient Weather and WeatherSnoop to excellent Davis 6250 and WeatherCat.

I've been a pilot for almost 50 years, including a stint with the US Navy, so weather has been a life long interest. Indeed, it proved a life changing factor in our decision to move to San Diego from the Philadelphia area so our vintage airplane ride business would enjoy better weather.
The open-cockpit flight out here in 18?F temperatures was an experience not soon forgotten. [freeze]

The downside, however, is that where we live has perhaps the most benign weather in the US. Temperatures fluctuate but a few degrees, the wind seldom blows over 10 knots, and it almost never rains! Not an exciting place to watch weather!

Blue skies and tailwinds,
Tailspin Tommy
http://carlsbadwx.com

WCDev

• WeatherCat Developer
  • Administrator
  • Storm
    • CW9739
    • ISCOTLAN25
    • Trixology
  • Station Details: Main Station: Vantage Pro-2, 24hr fars, solar, soil/leaf station, extra temp stations, no U.V. WeatherLink IP.
Re: Hello from San Diego California
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2013, 06:20:17 PM »
Welcome to the forum!

Steve

• Global Moderator
  • Storm
    • DW8454
    • KOHAVON11
    • Avon Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Wireless VP2 Plus w/24 hr FARS, Leaf & Soil Station, 2023 Mac mini M2 Pro, 32GB RAM, Mac OS 14, WeatherCat 3.2
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2013, 08:18:54 PM »
Hi Tommy, and welcome to the forum. I remember you from either the MacWeather forum or over on the WXforums.

I read your books when I was a kid! ;)
Steve - Avon, Ohio, USA

CWOP: DW8454 - WU: KOHAVON11 - AWEKAS - CoCoRaHS
PWSweather - WeatherCloud - Twitter - Facebook