Author Topic: Greetings from Upper Michigan  (Read 3209 times)

openvista

• Gentle Breeze
    • EW7933
    • KMIMARQU13
    • marquetteweather.com
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2 with FARS on a Hackintosh
Greetings from Upper Michigan
« on: October 01, 2015, 12:07:25 AM »
I've actually been a WeatherCat user for a couple years now but finally made my way onto the forum. 

I just put together a new custom website: http://mqtweather.com. It's a responsive (mobile friendly) design, although I'm a developer by trade so the user interface is pretty basic. Not many graphics. Built for speed and usability.

I'm pulling XML data from CWOP and NWS to produce real-time weather alerts and get nearby temp data.

I'm liking the flexibility I get from the custom tags in WeatherCat. Once you figure out how the template system works and get the documentation on the tags, it's pretty straightforward. So thank you to the developer(s).

You'll see my exposure for the weather station is fairly sheltered as I'm in an urban residential area. But I think it's fairly representative for temp, humidity, precip. Wind is another story and I'm working on getting that anemometer placed on the garage roof. It's tricky because of snow and ice here. It's got to be somewhat accessible and yet it needs to be far up! We'll see....
Davis Vantage Pro2 with FARS | https://marquetteweather.com

xairbusdriver

• Storm
    • EW7115 (E7115)
    • KTNGERMA20
    • Mid-South Weather
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 wireless + remote Anemometer/2014 Mac min - 10.15.7/WC 3.0.5
Re: Greetings from Upper Michigan
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2015, 01:33:03 AM »
Welcome AboaRd, Open Vista!

I must say, I've never known anyone with the name "Open"! [rolleyes2] [lol] Would you mind is we call you "OV"?

Not sure I could handle "frost" this early in the year! :o