Author Topic: High Sierra High CPU use  (Read 894 times)

aceradiv

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Station Details: http://www.radiv.com/weather/
High Sierra High CPU use
« on: September 26, 2017, 07:12:50 PM »
After upgrading I see high CPU use.
Any idea?

Hugh Whalen

  • Gentle Breeze
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • INBFLOWE2
  • Station Details: Vantage Pro 2 with UV and Solar sensors. 2017 27" iMac, 3.5 GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 07:43:37 PM »
After upgrading I see high CPU use.
Any idea?

Activity monitor shows WeatherCat using about 13% CPU with High Sierra. This compares with around 2 to 3% with Sierra.

Nothing else seems to show much of a difference.

Hugh

Felix

  • Gale
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
  • Station Details: Davis Wireless Vantage Pro-2 Plus with FARS, Leaf & Soil Moisture/Temp Sta + WeatherLink IP. Two prototype Sharx 3905 HD wide-angle webcams and one production model 3905, all using EvoCam v5.0. WeatherCat 3.01, macOS 10.13.5 (High Sierra).
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2017, 08:43:46 PM »
Is that a steady state 13% Hugh? I just looked at mine for a couple minutes (last public beta on test partition) and it varied between 0.8 - 15.2% depending upon what WC happened to be doing at the time. It is, in fact, peaking out about 5% higher than what I was seeing with Sierra 10.12.6 but I hadn't noticed it until your query. No idea if it's just an anomaly or something to be watchful of. Keep an eye out for memory leaks as well.


Maybe our intrepid developer will weigh in when he returns from India I think it was.

Hugh Whalen

  • Gentle Breeze
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • INBFLOWE2
  • Station Details: Vantage Pro 2 with UV and Solar sensors. 2017 27" iMac, 3.5 GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2017, 09:30:12 PM »
Is that a steady state 13% Hugh? I just looked at mine for a couple minutes (last public beta on test partition) and it varied between 0.8 - 15.2% depending upon what WC happened to be doing at the time. It is, in fact, peaking out about 5% higher than what I was seeing with Sierra 10.12.6 but I hadn't noticed it until your query. No idea if it's just an anomaly or something to be watchful of. Keep an eye out for memory leaks as well.


Maybe our intrepid developer will weigh in when he returns from India I think it was.

Using Sierra it would show 0.7 to perhaps 20 % or so. It would average around 3% over a few days. Now it has a low of about 8%, a high of over 30% and averages 12 to 13%. Not really a problem as my iMac is still responsive. Just an observation.

Weatheraardvark

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
    • C0005
    • KIADESMI1
    • Des Moines Weather and Climate
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 Plus, is that better?
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2017, 12:54:46 AM »
I am noticing my CPU running a few degrees hotter.  Maybe it is something it is going to need to settle out.
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Sierra; Bloomsky Sky 2; https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/faBiuZWsnpW6n6il

Hugh Whalen

  • Gentle Breeze
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • INBFLOWE2
  • Station Details: Vantage Pro 2 with UV and Solar sensors. 2017 27" iMac, 3.5 GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2017, 12:47:06 PM »
I am now running High Sierra 10.13.1 Beta 2 and WeatherCat CPU usage has dropped quite a bit. It used to be 13% with High Sierra and has dropped to about 5%. Still higher than the 3% in Sierra but much better than it was.

Hugh

JohnDoe1983

  • Gentle Breeze
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • iquebecq10
  • Station Details: Vantage Vue, WMW200A, WMR86A
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2017, 04:05:56 PM »
I am running Sierra 10.12.6
WxCat is using 291 meg of memory and between 21 and 30% of the processor.
Hum!!!
 

bob88061

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • CW9676
    • KNMSILVE4
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2017, 02:58:43 PM »
Just rebooted my iMac, macOS 10.13.2, and WeatherCat is the highest CPU usage with CPU Time 8:20 with uptime of 39 min. %CPU is running 13-58. Not running any video/images just WS info. Also whenever I reboot I have to resetup the comms. That maybe my USB/Serial adapter (although in Sierra this didn't happen). WC doesn't default to my Davis station and my USB/serial adapter (I also have to pull serial adapter from USB port and then replug before going to into COMMs setup).

Weatheraardvark

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
    • C0005
    • KIADESMI1
    • Des Moines Weather and Climate
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 Plus, is that better?
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2017, 04:12:58 PM »
How much RAM do you have?
I have noticed my computer runs hotter depending on some other programs I have running as well, such as securityspy  and of course the brightness of the screen. Firefox eats a lot of cpu time .

I guess it depends on what Weathercat is doing. If you have it just sitting there, gathering information, it uses less, but when it sends a lot of stuff to your site, more power.

The trick is more RAM. Unfortunately with the imac we are screwed.  I did buy mine with 32 G of Ram which helps out a boat load.

OK  so right now I have  it running at it shows 421.2 MB of memory being used by WC and 14-29% cpu time.  I have it sending data to my web page
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Sierra; Bloomsky Sky 2; https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/faBiuZWsnpW6n6il

Weatheraardvark

  • Strong Breeze
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
    • C0005
    • KIADESMI1
    • Des Moines Weather and Climate
  • Station Details: Davis VP2 Plus, is that better?
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 04:14:55 PM »
one other thought,  are you running anything for antivirus or securitiy suite?   I used to run bitdefender and it had this dameon thing that ate a lot of resources. Now i am working with Kapersky  and it is better.  Yes,  now the scumbuckets are writing trojans and malware for the mac,
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Sierra; Bloomsky Sky 2; https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/faBiuZWsnpW6n6il

bob88061

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • CW9676
    • KNMSILVE4
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #10 on: December 09, 2017, 07:52:56 PM »
I have 16 gb of memory and I'm not running any AV or security suite. Now my CPU usage for WC is 1:17:45 (the highest) with uptime of 5 hr 46 min
BTW running WC Version 2.44  Build 2 (2.4.4)


elagache

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, MacBook Pro (Early 2011)
Activity monitor info? (Re: High Sierra High CPU use)
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2017, 10:49:00 PM »
Dear bob88061, Weatheraardvark, and WeatherCat troubleshooters,

Just rebooted my iMac, macOS 10.13.2, and WeatherCat is the highest CPU usage with CPU Time 8:20 with uptime of 39 min. %CPU is running 13-58

How are you getting the CPU data - Activity Monitor?  What does Activity Monitor show as other high CPU use applications?  What you are observing isn't supposed to be occurring.  The only think I can think of is that WeatherCat is having to reindex its data for some reason.  If you have a lot of accumulated data that would explain the heavy CPU use.

At least on Sierra, Spotlight reindexes the file data on a reboot.  I'm wondering if that index process is effecting WeatherCat in some way.  Unless you have an running a SQL server, WeatherCat stores its data in text files that Spotlight will definitely index.

Sorry, that's about all I can think of.

Let us know if you uncover anything else.

Cheers, Edouard 

bob88061

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • CW9676
    • KNMSILVE4
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2017, 02:41:23 PM »
Hi, getting my CPU data from Activity Monitor (attached SS is from this morning w/1day of uptime) and iStat Menu (my screen shots). Not running a SQL server, WC maybe indexing but why should it be? I don't see any evidence of that happening (note that when I reboot and restart WC I do see that it's indexing cached data at the bottom of the WC window for a short period of time). Spotlight is not showing up as indexing anything (been running for 1 day since reboot, Spotlight has used 5:56 min/sec of CPU time). As others have reported Sierra did not report that WC is using as much CPU as WC is using in High Sierra.

elagache

  • Global Moderator
  • Storm
  • *****
  • Posts: 4740
    • DW3835
    • KCAORIND10
    • Canebas Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro-2, MacBook Pro (Early 2011)
Other High Sierra users - opinion? (Re: High Sierra High CPU use)
« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2017, 10:11:15 PM »
Dear bob88061 and WeatherCat troubleshooters,

Hi, getting my CPU data from Activity Monitor (attached SS is from this morning w/1day of uptime) and iStat Menu (my screen shots).
. . .

Your screenshot makes the point although perhaps you can tell us how steady that CPU use is.  WeatherCat does use a lot of CPU when generating custom web pages, but otherwise it is more miserly.

I'm very timid about upgrading operating systems and this time I'm very glad I did.  Can anyone else comment on the CPU use on High Sierra?

Cheers, Edouard

bob88061

  • Calm
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • CW9676
    • KNMSILVE4
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2
Re: High Sierra High CPU use
« Reply #14 on: December 10, 2017, 11:02:13 PM »
CPU usage by WC is consistently 15-50% whenever I check Activity Monitor. Just strange that so much CPU is being used (more than Firefox which is a resource hog)...