Author Topic: Hi from Tasmania, Australia  (Read 7215 times)

geoffmurray

• Gentle Breeze
    • ITASMANI96
    • Geoff Murray Wilderness and Landscape Photography
  • Station Details: Davis vantage Pro 2,wireless remote anemometer, non Davis wireless logger to iMac 27" 3.4Ghz i7 16Gb RAM SSD HD
Hi from Tasmania, Australia
« on: May 15, 2014, 03:03:33 AM »
Hi All,
I have recently joined this group and I am very pleased to have just got my Steel Series gauges working (mostly). They can be viewed here http://www.geoffmurray.com/steel/gauges-ss-basic.htm
I am using a Davis Vantage Pro 2 weather station feeding info wirelessly to my 27" iMac through a custom made (non Davis) wireless datalogger.
My main passion is seakayaking and adventure travel, which is obviously heavily affected by the weather, particularly wind. But I find watching the weather in my own locale captivating as well.
I am a professional photographer and my website is at www.geoffmurray.com
My home state of Tasmania is a photographer's delight, but so are places further afield, such as Alaska, Iceland and Greenland :-)
Tasmania, being an island located at around 40?S in the Roaring Forties in the southern ocean, has a temperate maritime climate which is overall fairly moderate but with the occasional "event". We have had winds of up to 176 kph, highs of 42?C and lows of -13?C in the state but mostly it is a fairly moderate climate so it is a very pleasant place to live :-)
This forum obviously has a lot of very knowledgable and enthusiastic people on it and I am very happy to have been allowed to join it.
Geoff

Blicj11

• Storm
    • EW3808
    • KUTHEBER6
    • Timber Lakes Weather
  • Station Details: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus | WeatherLinkIP Data Logger | iMac (2019), 3.6 GHz Intel Core i9, 40 GB RAM, macOS Ventura 13.6 | Sharx SCNC2900 Webcam | WeatherCat 3.3 | Supportive Wife
Re: Hi from Tasmania, Australia
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2014, 04:36:18 AM »
Geoff: