Author Topic: Hej from SW Sweden  (Read 2573 times)

maxen

• Gentle Breeze
Hej from SW Sweden
« on: December 06, 2015, 02:06:48 PM »
Hejsan

I have already made an introduction light in another thread, but here goes the longer story. [computer]

Real name is Robert, I'm 38yo as of today and live on the south west coast of Sweden, near the city Halmstad. I work as a Biomed. Engineer at the local hospital.

I have always found weather fascinating and like to fiddle with measurement technology, electronics and tech-things in general. The step to connect these areas is therefore quite straightforward. I bought a "real" weatherstation around 2000. The price was appealing, but again; you get what you pay for. It lived almost as long as the warranty, and needed a number of repairs. So I saved up to buy a Davis Vantage Pro in November 2004. Around that date it was also possible to apply and sign up for broadband internet here (instead of dial up modem). So my Davis has been on the web since the "beginning", with various addresses during time. Local people seem to like it. If the site goes down for some reason they look me up and wonder when it is back online. The VP is still ticking and have only needed minor repairs apart from maintenance.

I have used different computers, servers, software and solutions over time, including Davis Weatherlink, WsWin32, Cumulus for Windows and wview and vproweather for Linux. As my interest in Windows decreased when they introduced version 8 and over I bought a Mac Mini in springtime 2015. WeatherCat looked like pretty much the only option for Mac, but it seems to work really nice!

I have always self-hosted my web site using some kind of server. I used Linux until recently when I switched to a Synology NAS. The Internet connection was ADSL up to 2013, when a fiber connection was installed instead.

Today my weather can be found at: http://vader.vilsharad.net

See you around! [cheers1]

Bull Winkus

• Storm
    • EW0095
    • KARHORSE2