Author Topic: Greetings from the Pre-Alps in the South Of France  (Read 3153 times)

ParadisBlanc

Greetings from the Pre-Alps in the South Of France
« on: November 12, 2015, 10:59:59 PM »
Hello everyone,
my real name is Eric and it's pleasure to join you on this forum.

Paradis Blanc is actually the name of my house, located on the famous "French Riviera":

[sweat]

I'm sure you just thought (Monaco, Nice, Cannes) but hold-on!
The french Riviera is nothing more than a very steep mountain going into the sea.

Some some live at the bottom, on the coast (expensive, crowded, noisy, hot & polluted),
[sweat2]
And others live at the top, in the mountains (forests, space, visible stars, cool & pure),
[snow]
it's just 1h from the coast (where I'm actually working), still I get snow (plenty) and cold temperatures (-10C typical) during the winter.

I'm an engineer in a worldwide well known smartphone company ( [banghead] )
and I like to play with electronic devices of any kind ( [rockon] )
so I bought myself a WMR200 station to start with and will use WC to collect the data.

So far, for testing and usage, I split the station into pieces:
  • the main temp/humidity sensor at the far end of the house, to test the link range in bad weather conditions
  • the rain collector in my wife's kitchen garden, where else ?
  • an auxiliary temp/humidity sensor in the home-made greenhouse
  • the anemometer is in the garden for the moment (useless), I want to check what happens to it in snowing conditions
My house is actually surrounded by trees (and protected from the wind, more or less), yet the road down the house (25 meters away) is aligned with the narrow exit of a very large plain (venturi effect) and can be very windy. When I'm familiar enough with the station and WC, I intend to move the anemometer down the house and record the data properly.

The goal is to check whether {this} is a possibility to investigate.
 [interesting]

But it's a very long term project,