Author Topic: Make a small console of an old smartphone  (Read 3436 times)

maxen

• Gentle Breeze
Make a small console of an old smartphone
« on: December 06, 2015, 12:53:25 PM »
Hi!

So I have always had a silly standard digital thermometer in the kitchen. It was always showing odd values due to sunlight and the sensor hanging right by the outside brick wall. Finally it died when the sensor cable broke. [tup]

Being happy without bad data this actually left me with no data at all. Since this is no option I had to do something. Buying a new thermometer would not increase the quality of the data.

Then I remembered that I have this nice and expensive weather station in another room. ....and an abandoned Android mobile phone with a bad battery. The phone has a nice screen and WiFi and even has a nice cradle to live in. 1+1 = 2, right?

So I started coding on a small template that could be shown on the phone, while it's stationed in the kitchen.
As most of my projects, this is a constant work-in-progress, but if someone else would like to use it as is, feel free to do so. Change it according to your needs if you want.

---
The Android phone is best if always connected to the charger.
In the settings, go to "development" and tick "screen always on when usb power" (or something like that). Then the screen will stay on as long as the charger is connected.
Also you might want to turn of sync of mail, the sound and such. Unless you don't want this, of course.

The console.html is simply placed in you WeahterCat templates folder, so it updates and uploads to your web server regulary.